Castle of Dreams

You stand there all tall and stern,

But your eyes are like a mirror.

And I am the reflection they throw,

In every glimpse one catches of you.

 

I deceive with my feeble look and fragile self,

If only you could see through me

You would find the anger I suppress,

Powerful so that it can melt my bones.

 

These impersonations are what we ran from,

When we built our world in one another.

Running across the field in our castle of dreams,

Lying on the grass, watching and feeling safe under your favorite stars.

 

But now when I open my eyes and you’re nowhere to be found,

I don’t know if I’m alive or it’s a dark spell to which my heart is bound.

You know as gentle as I think you have been, is how much I see you now feel numb.

Special I knew I never was, terrible I don’t know along the way how I have become.

8 thoughts on “Castle of Dreams

  1. I know!? Saіd Ꮮaгry. ?I wager he likes angels because he haѕ tһem round aⅼl thе time.
    Maybe hе and thе angels play househoⅼd games like we do sometimes.
    Possibly they play Monoρoly.? This made Mommy snort
    actuallү hard.

Leave a comment